Monday Motivation: Things Change.

I’ve been feeling nostalgic this week with all of the Friends references in pop culture recently–#Hashtag2 and Parks and Recreation. So, of course, I had to YouTube Oprah’s interview with our Friends during the final season. I started the think about my friends and family, and how this show helped me transition from high school to college–with a less than ideal first year of college–and beyond that into adulthood.

The point of this Monday Motivation is that things change. As I get older and older, things keep changing. Change is my weakness. I don’t like it, as I’m sure most people don’t like change. However, sometimes change is necessary for growth.

About a year ago, I received a promotion at work, and had to change locations. The thought of leaving my work team for another team was tearful. They had gotten me through so much. I was able to depend upon them in such great ways. It was a new support system–something I needed and never expected to have. When I started my new position, it was different. I didn’t have my support system. But I adapted and found a new support system–my new boss. With that said, the week ended with me learning my  boss would be leaving due to a promotion. Typically I would say I’m not a crier, but that statement seems to be less and less true.

Once again, here we go with change. But I’ve learned to look at change as a way to reflect upon where I’ve come and what I’ve learned along the way. The following clip from the season four season finale of Castle says it best:

“… Today we say goodbye to everything that was familiar–everything that was comfortable. We’re moving on. But just because we’re leaving and it hurts. There are some people who are so much apart of us, they’ll be with us no matter what. They are our solid ground–our North Star. And, the small, clear voices in our heart that will be with us always.”

Don’t deny change anymore, because you can’t stop it. Reflect upon where you’ve come, and what you want the future to look like.

Change happens. Let’s embrace it.

Leave a Reply

